While incarcerated, felons are restricted from using many instruments that could be a weapon.
Unless working a job under close supervision in prison, knives or any other sharp objects are off limits. They can easily become a weapon to attack fellow inmates or prison staff.
Following release from prison and returning to society, there is still the concern of felons coming into contact with weapons that could be used against another person.
This blog post will cover the question of whether a felon can own a Taser.
- What is a Taser?
- State Taser Laws
- Supporting a Felon Who Wants to Own a Taser
What is a Taser?
A Taser is an electroshock weapon that shoots probes connected to wires to deliver electric current to a target.
A civilian Taser can be shot from a range of 15-30 feet and delivers a current lasting 30 seconds. A police Taser delivers a current lasting only five seconds with the shooting range being up to 30 feet.
The term Taser is not a name but an acronym for Thomas A. Swift Electric Rifle (TASER) from a science fiction novel. It was developed in the 1960s for use in emergencies.
A Taser isn’t intended to kill a person because the voltage used is not high enough to be lethal. The current used in a Taser is safe and will not disrupt the heart rhythm.
It is powered by a battery with the capacity to deliver a current for only a few minutes.
The term stun gun is often used in place of the word Taser. A stun gun is different from a Taser. A stun gun also delivers an electric current, but the stun gun must be in direct contact with the target.
A stun gun is illegal to own in several states.
The Taser is not considered to be a firearm by the U.S. Bureau of Tobacco and Firearms.
A Taser is considered to be a defense weapon to be used in emergencies when an individual is being threatened by another and fears for their life.
It is legal to own a Taser in 45 states. The exceptions to this are Hawaii, Massachusetts, New York, New Jersey, and Rhode Island.
While a background check used to be required to purchase a Taser, this is no longer the case.
Individuals must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a Taser.
State Taser Laws
While it is legal to carry a Taser in almost all states, in Connecticut a person cannot carry one in public.
Anyone owning a Taser must be at least 18 years old.
If a Taser is carried in a hidden or suspicious manner, legal authorities may view it differently and may mistake it for a firearm.
This can place felons in the position of facing a deadly weapon charges. If this occurs it is important to contact a lawyer.
With the sensitive nature of felons’ situations, it is important for them not to even consider carrying a Taser in public.
There is no reason for felons to call attention to themselves needlessly.
Obeying the laws and restrictions they already face is difficult enough.
Felons who want to protect themselves and their home need to be cautious regarding what type of weapon they possess.
Supporting a Felon Who Wants to Own a Taser
For families of felons, it is crucial to recognize that your loved one is trying to readjust to society and do the right thing. Be there to encourage and support them in living an honest life and fitting back into society once again.
It may seem like a little thing, but obeying the laws regarding owning a Taser will help them follow other laws also.
While it is legal for felons to possess a Taser, they still place themselves at risk by owning one. Even having one at their residence invites disaster as the Taser could wind up seriously injuring or killing someone.
Why take the chance of becoming involved in a situation that could result in their being arrested and possibly ending up back in prison again? It isn’t worth the risk.
So, be honest with your felon family member or friend. Encourage them to think carefully about owning a Taser.
So what do you think about this blog post about can a felon own a Taser? Have you or someone you know owned a Taser as a felon? What was that like? Please tell us in the comments below.